The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back 
to 1775. They keep only those Federal records that are judged to have continuing value—about 2 to 5 percent of those generated in any given year. By now, they add up to a formidable number, diverse in form as well as in content. There are approximately 10 billion pages of textual records; 12 million maps, charts, and architectural and engineering drawings; 25 million still photographs and graphics; 24 million aerial photographs; 300,000 reels of motion picture film; 400,000 video and sound recordings; and 133 terabytes of electronic data. All of these materials are preserved because they are important to the workings of Government, have long-term research worth, or provide information of value to citizens.
This searchable catalog provides access to more than 2 million electronic records, with more added all the time. It will also search the National Archives website and physical collections. Copies of many records in the physical collections are available for order or for access at the National Archives.
These searchable databases provide online access to records in a small selection of historic databases. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses.
This website is focused on the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill Rights. Collectively they are known as the Charters of Freedom. Here you can find high resolution images for download, transcripts, and other background information.
This searchable database has more than 181,000 documents pertaining to 6 of the founding fathers: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. These documents include correspondence and other writings.
This online teaching tool provides access to thousands of primary sources from the National Archives. There are also collections of document based activities created by the National Archives and by teachers around the world as well as the tools needed to create your own activities.
© 2019 Western Wyoming Community College. Western Wyoming Community College does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, nation origin,
marital status, sexual preference,
sex, age, religion, political belief, disability, or veteran status, in employment,
admission and/or access to program or activities.