The Department of Agriculture oversees farm production and conservation, Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services, food safety, marketing and regulatory programs, natural resources and environment (including the Forest Service), agricultural research and education, rural development and the Foreign Agricultural Service.
The QuickStats Database is the most comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by the National Agricultural Statistic Service. It allows you to customize your query by commodity, location, or time period.
The ERS State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, poverty, good security, education, employment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports.
The National Agricultural Library is one of four national Libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences. This website is a portal to AGRICOLA, a searchable database that provides access to the NAL catalog and indexed journal articles on agricultural topics.
NIFA's mission is to invest in and advance agricultural research, education, and by extension, to solve societal challengers. This research advances the competitiveness of American agriculture, enhances the safety of the nation's food supply, improves the nutrition and well-being of American citizens, and sustains natural resources and the environment.
Rural Development is committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in rural America. It offers loans, grants, and loan guarantees as well as technical assistance to help create jobs and support economic development and essential services.
The National Agricultural Law Center is the only agricultural law research and information facility that is independent, national in scope, and directly connected to the national agricultural information network. As a result of the expanding scope of agricultural law and its convergence with related areas, the Center also includes food law in teh scopes of its coverage.
The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Even small plots of land - whether rural or urban - growing fruit, vegetables or some food animals count if $1,000 or more of such products were raised and sold, or normally would have been sold, during the Census year. The Census of Agriculture, taken only once every five years, looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures. For America's farmers and ranchers, the Census of Agriculture is their voice, their future, and their opportunity.
The Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America provides a spatial interpretation of county-level economic, and social conditions along four dimensions: demographics, jobs, income, and county classifications.
Published every 5 years, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans reflects the current body of nutrition science, helps health professionals and policy makers guide Americans to make healthy good and beverage choices and serves as the science-based foundation for vital nutrition policies and programs across the United States.
Nutrition.gov is a a USDA-sponsored website that offers reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
The FNS increases food security and reduces hunger in partnership with cooperating organizations by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthy diet, and nutrition education.
The FSIS enhances public health and well-being by protecting the public from food borne illness and ensuring that the nation's meat, poultry, and egg products are safe, wholesome, and correctly packaged.
FoodData Central is a searchable database that provides food nutrient data with links to related agricultural and experimental research.
The Food and Nutrition Information Center website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information. Topics include dietary guidance, food label and dietary supplement information, nutrition assistance programs, food composition and food safety.
The Choose My Plate website allows users to personalize the nutrition and dietary information available from the U. S. Dept. of Agriculture. The My Plate Kitchen provides recipes and instruction videos on how to create healthy nutritious meals. Choose My Plate is also available as an app for android and iphone.
The Food Environment Atlas provides a spatial overview of a community's ability to access healthy food and its success in doing so. It assembles statistics in three broad categories: Food Choices, Health and Well-Being and Community Characteristics.
Forest ServiceThe Forest Service manages and protects 154 national forests and 20 grasslands in 43 states and Puerto Rico. The agency's mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation's forest and grasslands.
The PLANTS database provides standardize information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts and lichens of the United States and its territories.
The Digital Collection of the National Forest Service Library is a searchable archive of non-peer-reviewed publications from the Forest Service. These publications include service reports, research, photographs, oral histories from former Forest Service employees, land management plans, environmental impact statements and much more.
The Web Soil Survey provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95% of the nation's counties. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.
The most current soil survey information is available on the Web Soil Survey but supplemental information is available in the form of published soil surveys. The USDA has published soil surveys since 1899. Many of these publications are archived as PDF Files.
Treesearch is a searchable online database of more than 50,000 full text publications by the Research and Development scientists in the Forest Service. They include peer reviewed research published by the agency, and appearing in journals, as well as conference proceedings, and books.
The National Interagency Fire Center is located in Boise, Idaho adjacent to the Boise Airport. Mostly focused on wildland firefighting, they also provide emergency responses during floods, hurricanes, earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, riots, and terrorists attacks. Their website provides information on and statistics on past and current wildland fires.
InciWeb, the Incident Information System, provides up to date information on all current wildfire incidents in the United States.
The periodic reports document the role of family farms in U.S. agricultural production. They provide information on the structure and finances of U.S. Farms
The FCIC promotes the economic stability of agriculture through a sound system of crop insurance. This website focuses on Wyoming, presenting current news, state crop profiles and information on the availability of crop insurance in Wyoming.
The Foreign Agricultural Service links U.S. agriculture to the world to enhance export opportunities and global food security. Their website provides global market information on a variety of crops and products.
The AMS administers programs that create domestic and international marketing opportunities for U.S. producers of food, fiber, and specialty crops. Their website details programs dealing with accreditation and inspections, government procurement, research and testing, transportation and warehouse services.
USDA's Rural Business Cooperative Service offers programs to help businesses grow as well as job training for people living in rural areas.
ERS research and analysis covers a broad range of economic and policy topics including the rural economy, agricultural economy and global markets and trade.
The Farm Service Agency supports farms and farming communities with programs including disaster relief, conservation programs, commodity price guarantee programs and loan programs.
© 2019 Western Wyoming Community College. Western Wyoming Community College does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, nation origin,
marital status, sexual preference,
sex, age, religion, political belief, disability, or veteran status, in employment,
admission and/or access to program or activities.