The Department of Commerce promotes job creation and economic growth by ensuring fair and reciprocal trade, providing the data necessary to support commerce, and fostering innovation by setting standards and conducting research and development. Among many other functions the department oversees ocean and coastal navigation, helps negotiate bilateral trade agreements and enforces laws that require a level playing field for American businesses and workers.
The National Institute of Standards and Technology was founded in 1901 and is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. It's mission is to promote innovation and industrial competitiveness. It's measurements and standards support industries from nano scale devises to earthquake resistant skyscrapers.
The Patent and Trademark Office is the federal agency responsible for granting U. S. Patents and registering trademarks. The USPTO also advises the President, the Secretary of Commerce and other government agencies on intellectual property policy, protection, and enforcement. It also provides training education and capacity building programs designed to foster respect for intellectual property.
This website has information on all patents granted from 1790-present as well as patent application from 2001-present and trademark applications from 2009-present.
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides economic data by industry. This series includes the number of businesses, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
The U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is a source of accurate and objective data about the U. S. economy. It provides basic economic statistics, detailed economic research, and educational material for students and teachers.
Bearfacts are produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis. They show economic statistics and projections such as gross domestic products, and personal income on a state, county or metropolitan area level.
The Survey of Current Business is the journal for the U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. The articles include detailed presentations of recent data releases, explanations of economic benchmark updates, explanations of key methodologies, updates about in-progress data sets and relevant research, briefing on key issues and links to interactive data sets with most articles.
The Regional Economic Accounts show how the U. S. economic growth and activity is distributed geographically. It shows Gross Domestic Product and Personal Income by state, county, and metro area along with statistics on employment and consumer spending.
The ITA maintains the competitiveness of U. S. industry, promote trade and ensures fair trade through enforcement of trade laws and agreements. Their website provides information on a variety of trade related topics.
Export Solutions helps U. S. companies plan, develop, and execute international sales strategies necessary to succeed in today's global marketplace. This website provides trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to begin exporting your business.
TradeStats Express allows users to retrieve, visualize, analyze and download customized export data on a national or state level.
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people, places and economy. This website allows users to browse data on U. S. population demographics including education, employment, health and housing.
This website is a searchable repository of Census information from 2000 to the present. This includes data on population, housing, economics, manufacturing, government, and employment.
The Census Bureau Library collects, preserves and provides access to information resources produced by the Census Bureau. The publications cover topics such as statistics, population studies, demographics, geography, census history, methodology and sampling, and international census data. Formats include audio, video, mobile apps, images and publications.
The U. S. Census counts each resident of the country, where they live, on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine the number of seats each state has in the House of Representatives. This information is also used as a source of demographic and economic statistics.
Every five years, the U. S. Census Bureau conducts the Economic Census, the official measure of the nation's businesses and economy. Business, policymakers, governments, and communities use Economic Census data for economic development, business decisions, strategic planning.
The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local governments. It provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment.
The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premiere source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
In election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports statistics by turnout, age, race and origin.
Quick Facts is an easy to use application that provides tables, maps, and charts of frequently requested statistics from many Census Bureau censuses, surveys, and programs. Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more are also included.
The International Database offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a scientific agency that focuses on weather, climate, the oceans and coasts. They provide daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings as well as information about climate monitoring, marine commerce, navigation and sanctuaries.
NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. Their goals are to promote public understanding of climate science and climate-related events, to make their data and services easy to access and use, to provide climate-related support to the private sector and the Nation’s economy, and to serve people making climate-related decisions with tools and resources.
The NOAA Photo Library covers topics to do with the natural world, from the center of the earth to the center of the sun. it includes weather and space images, as well as coastal and oceanic scenes and marine life.
This searchable database provides access to professional research papers written by scientists associated with NOAA. Many are available online.
The National Ocean Service provides information on ocean and coastal ecosystems, economy, hazards and navigation. It also provides educational material for students and teachers.
NOAA's Nautical Chart Locator gives you the ability to view and download any of NOAA's 1000+ nautical charts in several formats: PDF, Booklet Charts, and NOAA RNC, as well as Notice to Mariner chart updates.
The United States Coast Pilot consists of a series of nautical books that cover a variety of information important to navigators of coastal and intracoastal waters and the Great Lakes. Topics include channel descriptions, weather, dangers, routes, and Federal regulations applicable to navigation.
The National Weather Services mission is to provide weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.
Monthly compilation of weather data such as temperature, snowfall, evaporation, and soil temperature for the United Sates and Territories.
This monthly publication contains data on mean temperature, press, precipitation, vapor pressure ans sunshine that is collected from 2,000 surface stations world wife. About 500 of these sites also collect mean upper air temperature, dew point depressions, and wind velocities. it is published with a 4-6 month time lag.
This searchable database contains information of the occurence of storms and significant weather phenomena with enough intensity to cause injuries and property damages or disrupt commerce. It also includes data on rare, unusual weather phenomena and other significant meteorological events such as record temps or precipitation.
This National Weather Service report summarizes fatalities, injuries and damages caused by severe weather. It can be organized by year, by state or by type of weather.
The Significant Earthquake Database contains information on destructive earthquakes from 2150 BC to the present. They must meet one of the following criteria: caused $1 million worth of damage, 10 or more deaths, magnitude 7.5 or higher, modified Mercalli Intensity X or greater, or the creation of a tsunami.
© 2019 Western Wyoming Community College. Western Wyoming Community College does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, nation origin,
marital status, sexual preference,
sex, age, religion, political belief, disability, or veteran status, in employment,
admission and/or access to program or activities.