Skip to Main Content HTML Image as link Western Wyoming Community College Home Page

Human and Public Service

This subject guide is a collection of library and web resources on Criminal Justice, Education, Psychology, and Social Sciences.

Welcome

Welcome to the Human and Public Service Library Resources guide! 

This guide is designed as a starting point for your research in the Human and Public Services fields of study. It consists of resources both in print and electronic. 

 

Use the tabs on the left side of this guide to navigate to the different fields of study.

How to Access Databases

To access the library databases follow these steps:

  1. Login to My Western.

  2. Click the "Library" icon.

  3. Click the "Databases" icon.

  4. Look for a database by name, type, or subject.

  5. Use the recommended databases listed in this Library Guide to get started.

Search Tips

Keywords

  • Search terms that cover key concepts or main ideas. 

 

Synonyms

  • Alternative words for the same concept. (Ex: cultural anthropology/ culturology) 

 

Boolean Searches 

  • Combines related search terms by using AND, OR, NOT. For example: searching Anthropology AND culture NOT ethnography will provide resources pertaining to anthropological culture and exclude resources on ethnography. 

 

Truncation/ Wildcard 

  • Truncation is an advanced search technique using an asterisk (*) to specify any number of characters typically used at the end of a root word.

    Examples:
    • technolog* will search for technology, technologies, technological, etc.
    • histor* will search for history, histories, historical, etc.

  • Wildcard is a search technique using a ? or # are used to replace letters in words where there are unknown or multiple possible characters. This can vary by the database.

    Examples:
    • colo?r will search for color or colour.
    • hono?r will search for honor or honour.
    • wom?n will search for woman or women.

 

Limiters/ Filters (Help to narrow your search results)

  • Full text: limits results to resources that are fully available to view now.

  • Peer reviewed: limits results to resources that have gone through an extensive review and editing process by the author's peers (fellow experts who are in the same subject field). 

  • Publication Dates: limits results to specific date ranges. 

  • Source Type: limits results by specific source types. (ex: academic/scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, eBooks)

 

Ask a Librarian

  • If you are needing assistance with finding articles, books, etc. for your research papers, contact a librarian. We are happy to help! 

© 2019 Western Wyoming Community College. Western Wyoming Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, nation origin,
marital status, sexual preference, sex, age, religion, political belief, disability, or veteran status, in employment, admission and/or access to program or activities.