LibGuides: Business Libguide: Government Information

Government Websites

USA.GOV USA.GOV is a government website that contains information on all facets of the United States Government. It also allows users to search all government websites at once.
Govinfo.gov Govinfo.gov is an online archive of government publications.
Govinfo.gov Tutorials Govinfo.gov provides several video tutorials and handouts to help users find information on their website.

Agricultural/Rural Business

Agricultural Marketing Service The AMS administers programs that create domestic and international marketing opportunities for U. S. producers of food, fiber and speciality crops. Their website details programs dealing with accreditation and inspections, government procurement, research and testing, transportation and warehouse services.
Farm Service Agency The Farm Service Agency supports farms and farming communities with programs including disaster relief, conservation programs, commodity price guarantee programs and loan programs.
Federal Crop Insurance Corporation - Wyoming The FCIC promotes the economic stability of agriculture through a sound system of crop insurance. This website focuses on Wyoming, presenting current news, state crop profiles, and information on the availability of crop insurance in Wyoming.
Foreign Agricultural Service The Foreign Agricultural Service links U. S. agriculture with the world to enhance export opportunities and global food security. Their website provides global market information on a variety of crops and products.
Rural Business Cooperative Service USDA's Rural Business Cooperative Service offers programs to help businesses grow as well as job training for people living in rural areas.
Structure and Finance of U. S. Farms These periodic reports document the role of family farms in U. S. agricultural production. They provide information on the structure and finances of U. S. Farms.
USDA Economic Research Service ERS research and analysis covers a broad range of economic and policy topics including the rural economy, agricultural economy and global markets and trade.

Consumer Protection

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau helps consumers by providing educational materials and accepting complaints. It supervises banks, lenders, and large non-bank entities, such as credit reporting agencies and debt collection companies. The Bureau also works to make credit card, mortgage, and other loan disclosures clearer, so consumers can understand their rights and responsibilities.
Consumer Issues This website is a hub for links on several topics related to Consumer Services and Protection.
Consumer Product Safety Commission The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) protects the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from thousands of types of consumer products under its jurisdiction, including products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children.
Federal Trade Commission The Federal Trade Commission protects consumers by enforcing antitrust laws and preventing deceptive and unfair business practices. Their website provides data on fraud, identity theft and other consumer problems.

Business Development

Bureau of the Fiscal Service This website describes services and information available from the Fiscal Service Bureau for businesses and institutions. Example topics include: exchange rates, wage garnishments, business taxes and surety bonds.
Commerce Department The Commerce Department promotes job creation and economic growth by ensuring fair trade and providing research and data on economic subjects.
Economic Development Administration The EDA provides information on resources available to promote business growth and disaster recovery.
Minority Business Development Agency The MBDA promotes the growth of minority-owned businesses. Their research and data library offers publications on business topics related to racial and ethnic populations in the United States.
Patent and Trademark Office The Patent and Trademark Office provides information on the process of applying for a patent or trademark as well as basic information on intellectual property rights.
SBA Learning Center The Small Business Association's Learning Center offers a variety of online courses on starting and managing a business.
Small Business Administration The Small Business Administration helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships, the Small Business Administration assists and protects the interests of small business concerns.
Small Business Profiles for States and Territories Advocacy’s Small Business Profiles are an annual portrait of each state’s small businesses. Included in each are snapshots into each state’s small business health and economic activity. Some economic data is also supplied for U.S. territories.
Small Business Resources This website is a hub for links on several topics related to government programs for small businesses.
Wyoming Business Council The Wyoming Business Council is the state's Economic Development Agency. They provide resources and services to strengthen and diversify Wyoming's economy.

International Trade

Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb USITC Dataweb provides U. S. merchandise trade and tariff data in a user friendly web interface. Trade data from 1989 to present is available on a monthly, quarterly, annual and year to date basis.
International Trade Administration The ITA strengthens the competitiveness of U. S. industry by promoting trade and investment and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements.
International Trade Commission Publications Library The ITC provides high quality, leading-edge analysis of international trade issues to the President and Congress. Topics include tariffs, trade, U. S. competitiveness and intellectual property rights.
Journal of International Commerce & Economics JICE is a peer reviewed journal published by the USITC. It focuses on applied international trade through in-depth, policy relevant, and accessible analysis of contemporary economic, industry competitiveness and investment issues.
Trade and Development Agency The United States Trade and Development Agency links U.S. businesses to export opportunities by funding project planning activities, pilot projects, and reverse trade missions.
United States Court of International Trade The U.S. Court of International Trade has jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the U.S.

Business Statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis The U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the economy; on a country, state, county or metropolitan area level.
Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
County Business Patterns County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides economic data by industry.
Economic Census Every 5 years the Census Bureau collects statistics on U. S. businesses and their economic impact. The data from these surveys is available on their website.
Monthly Labor Review Monthly Labor Review is the principle journal of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides research on the labor force, economy, employment inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illness, wages, prices and more.
National Compensation Survey The NCS provides comprehensive measures of employee costs for employee compensation (including wages & salaries & benefits) compensation trends, and incidence of employer-sponsored benefits among workers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH provides information on careers, employment estimates and growth; salary and pay; and education, training and licensing.
Regional Economic Accounts The Regional Economic Accounts show how the U. S. economic growth & activity are distributed geographically.
State Bearfacts Bearfacts show economic statistics and projections such as gross domestic product, and personal income on a state, county, or metropolitan area level.
Survey of Current Business The Survey of Current Business journal includes articles about current research and data produced by the BEA.

Worker's Rights

Department of Labor The Department of Labor administers federal labor laws to guarantee worker's rights to fair, safe, and healthy working conditions, including minimum hourly wage and overtime pay, protection against employment discrimination and unemployment insurance.
Labor Laws and Issues This website is a hub for links on several topics related to workers' rights and labor laws.
National Labor Relations Board The National Labor Relations Board enforces the National Labor Relations Act by investigating allegations of wrong-doing brought by workers, unions, or employers, conducting elections, and deciding and resolving cases.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) assures safe and healthful working conditions by setting and enforcing standards, and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
Office of Disability Employment Policy The Office of Disability Employment Policy creates policies to ensure that people with disabilities are fully integrated in the workforce.
OSHA Publications Library This searchable database provides access to OSHA publications on a variety workplace safety issues.
Women's Bureau The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments.
Worker's Rights Brochure This brochure provides a general overview of worker's rights under the Occupations Safety and Health Act.