"March has been National Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month since 1987. President Reagan’s goal for this annual observation was to increase “public awareness of the needs and the potential of Americans with developmental disabilities” and to provide the opportunities and supports individuals with developmental disabilities may need to lead productive lives and reach their full potential."
Source: https://ies.ed.gov/blogs/research/post/national-developmental-disabilities-awareness-month
This libguide is a collaborative endeavor of the Hay Library and Western's DEI Committee.
(This LibGuide is by no means an exhaustive list of resources, but we do endeavor to keep this list of materials updated.)
Select the individual's name to view their works available in the Hay Library or online. Select the individual's picture to view their biography information.
In 1994, T.J. Monroe, a People First activist, became the first person with mental retardation to serve on the The President’s Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities (PCPID), formerly The President's Committee on Mental Retardation. Placed in an institution as a child, Monroe fought a long battle for independence from the state. Now, he travels the country speaking at conferences and teaching workshops in addition to his job at a senior center. "A one-hour documentary entitled MY COUNTRY profiles three people with disabilities: Kathy Martinez, a disability rights activist; Hughey Walker, a Vietnam veteran and the first African-American elected official in his South Carolina county; and T.J. Monroe, the first person with mental retardation to serve on the President's Committee on Mental Retardation." As Monroe tells audiences, "The bottom line is showing people that they are equal and they have rights just like everybody else."
Abbey Curran is an American beauty queen contestant, living with cerebral palsy. Despite her struggles with the condition, she participated in several beauty pageants, winning Miss Iowa USA and competing in the Miss USA pageant. Curran is the founder the Miss You Can Do It beauty pageant, which supports girls with limiting conditions in achieving their pageant dreams.
When Naoki Higashida was thirteen years old, he could not speak; he was a nonverbal autistic teenager bursting with ideas, thoughts, and emotions, and little ability to communicate any of them to the people around him. Higashida learned how to form words by the painstaking method of selecting Japanese alphabet characters from a chart so that his support people could transcribe them into words, then sentences. Finally able to speak, in 2007 he published a memoir in Japanese, which resonated with parents, caregivers, and support people desperate to interact with loved ones who could not speak for themselves. Among them were British novelist David Mitchell and his wife, K.A. Yoshida, Japanese-speaking parents of an autistic son living halfway around the world. The couple learned so much about their son from reading about Naoki, still a child himself, that they (primarily Mitchell) translated his memoir into English for the benefit of other families and their autistic children.
David Finch is a consultant, keynote speaker, and New York Times best-selling author on autism, neurodiversity, and relationships. Finch wrote the article "Somewhere Inside, a Path to Empathy" for the New York Times, which talked about the diagnosis and the steps he took to save his marriage. He learned to communicate with people, understand them, put their needs ahead of his own, regain intimacy, allow changes in his schedule, set goals, and be less obsessive. In 2012 Finch expanded his article into the book The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man's Quest to Be a Better Husband. In his book he created a list of best practices from his own self-help notes.
In April of 2009, an unknown, middle-aged woman from Scotland shocked the world with her beautiful voice. Susan Boyle became a star overnight after her first appearance on the ITV show Britain's Got Talent when she offered a compelling rendition of "I Dreamed a Dream" from the hit musical Les Misérables. Boyle was the early favorite to win the talent show competition, and the YouTube video of her appearance was one of the most-watched videos in the site's history. In December of 2013, the singer revealed that she had been diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome, which is a developmental disorder on the autism spectrum. She told the Guardian, "Asperger's doesn't define me. It's a condition that I have to live with and work through, but I feel more relaxed about myself. People will have a greater understanding of who I am and why I do the things I do."
Robison became an author, writing about his experiences with Asperger's syndrome. The book Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's details what Robison dealt with growing up with his disability and how it affected him and the people around him. Published in 2007, Look Me in the Eye was a New York Times best seller and encouraged Robison to keep writing.
Born June 27, 1880, Tuscumbia, Alabama, author, lecturer and social activist Helen Keller promoted social reforms to improve the education and treatment of handicapped individuals. She died June 1, 1968, in Westport, Connecticut. A bronze statue of Keller was placed inside the National Statuary Hall Collection in 2008 to commemorate her tremendous contributions to the blind and deaf community.
Call number: 616.85 SI321N 2015
"A groundbreaking book that upends conventional thinking about autism and suggests a broader model for acceptance, understanding, and full participation in society for people who think differently. What is autism: a devastating developmental disorder, a lifelong disability, or a naturally occurring form of cognitive difference akin to certain forms of genius? In truth, it is all of these things and more--and the future of our society depends on our understanding it. WIRED reporter Steve Silberman unearths the secret history of autism, long suppressed by the same clinicians who became famous for discovering it, and finds surprising answers to the crucial question of why the number of diagnoses has soared in recent years. Going back to the earliest days of autism research and chronicling the brave and lonely journey of autistic people and their families through the decades, Silberman provides long-sought solutions to the autism puzzle, while mapping out a path for our society toward a more humane world in which people with learning differences and those who love them have access to the resources they need to live happier, healthier, more secure, and more meaningful lives. Along the way, he reveals the untold story of Hans Asperger, the father of Asperger's syndrome, whose "little professors" were targeted by the darkest social-engineering experiment in human history; exposes the covert campaign by child psychiatrist Leo Kanner to suppress knowledge of the autism spectrum for fifty years; and casts light on the growing movement of "neurodiversity" activists seeking respect, support, technological innovation, accommodations in the workplace and in education, and the right to self-determination for those with cognitive differences"--
Call number: 342.087 D630D 2022
This book, exploring the theoretical and practical implications of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), brings together an international and interdisciplinary group of leading researchers in the areas of philosophy of disability, disability law, and disability policy. It addresses both the philosophical foundations of the CRPD as well as complex contemporary legal and policy debates.
With a comprehensive introduction outlining key milestones in the development and implementation of the CRPD, the book addresses the most fundamental questions the CRPD raises for the way we think about human rights, law, and disability, and how we operationalize rights in the legal and policy domains. The contributors traverse themes of personhood, equality, capacity, and intersectionality, explore the dilemmas involved in translating these concepts in practice, and reflect on the promises and limitations of the human rights project.
Call number: 615.8515 H191H 2019
Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy: Foundations and Guidelines for Animal-Assisted Interventions, Fifth Edition highlights advances in the field, with seven new chapters and revisions to over 75% of the material. This book will help therapists discover the benefits of incorporating animal assisted therapy into their practice, how to design and implement animal assisted interventions, and the efficacy of animal assisted therapy with different disorders and patient populations. Coverage includes the use of AAT with children, families and the elderly, in counseling and psychotherapy settings, and for treating a variety of specific disorders.
Contains seven new chapters in addition to 75% new or revised material
Includes guidelines and best practices for using animals as therapeutic companions
Addresses specific types of patients and environmental situations
Includes AAI working with cats, dogs, birds, and horses
Discusses why animals are used in therapy, as well as how
Call number: 616.8588 B660A 2017
What are the historical foundations of autism and what precisely is meant by the 'autistic spectrum'? How can we explain behavioural patterns of people with autism, young or old, and what are the major theoretical bases for understanding these? What is the latest thinking regarding diagnosis, and what are the most effective strategies for assessment, education and care for people with this condition?Following on from the popular provocative first edition, the Second Edition answers these questions with the latest research on autistic spectrum disorders, exploring theories at the psychological, neurobiological and 'first cause' levels to methods of assessment, intervention, education and support. Already popular as an introductory text for those wanting to know more about autism as well as a source of basic information and references for those familiar with the field, this newly updated and enhanced book is invaluable for students, professionals and even families.
Call number: MCN GRANDIN
A quarter of a century after her memoir, Thinking in Pictures, forever changed how the world understood autism, Temple Grandin—the “anthropologist on Mars,” as Oliver Sacks dubbed her—transforms our awareness of the different ways our brains are wired. Do you have a keen sense of direction, a love of puzzles, the ability to assemble furniture without crying? You are likely a visual thinker. With her genius for demystifying science, Grandin draws on cutting-edge research to take us inside visual thinking. Visual thinkers constitute a far greater proportion of the population than previously believed, she reveals, and a more varied one, from the photo-realistic object visualizers like Grandin herself, with their intuitive knack for design and problem solving, to the abstract, mathematically inclined “visual spatial” thinkers who excel in pattern recognition and systemic thinking. She also makes us understand how a world increasingly geared to the verbal tends to sideline visual thinkers, screening them out at school and passing over them in the workplace. Rather than continuing to waste their singular gifts, driving a collective loss in productivity and innovation, Grandin proposes new approaches to educating, parenting, employing, and collaborating with visual thinkers. In a highly competitive world, this important book helps us see, we need every mind on board.
Call number: 362.1968 H854D 2010
The remarkable story of a father's devotion to his wheelchair-bound son and how their bond inspired millions of people worldwide. Born a spastic quadraplegic, Rick Hoyt was written off by numerous doctors. They advised his parents, Dick and Judy, to put their firstborn son in an institution. But Rick's parents refused. Determined to give their son every opportunity that "normal" kids had, they made sure to include Rick in everything they did, especially with their other two sons, Rob and Russ. But home was one thing, the world at large, another. Repeatedly rebuffed by school administrators who resisted their attempts to enroll Rick in school, Rick's mother worked tirelessly to help pass a landmark bill, Chapter 766, the first special-education reform law in the country. As a result, Rick and other physically disabled kids were able to attend public school in Massachusetts. But how would Rick communicate when he couldn't talk? To overcome this daunting obstacle, Dick and Judy worked with Dr. William Crochetiere, then chairman of the engineering department at Tufts University, and several enterprising graduate students, including Rick Foulds, to create the Tufts Interactive Communication device (TCI). In the Hoyt household, it became known as the "Hope machine" as it enabled Rick to create sentences by pressing his head against a metal bar. For the first time ever, Rick was able to communicate. Then one day Rick asked his dad to enter a charity race, but there was a twist. Rick wanted to run too. Dick had never run a race before, but more challenging still, he would have to push his son's wheelchair at the same time. But once again, the Hoyts were determined to overcome whatever obstacle was put in their way. Now, over one thousand races later, including numerous marathons and triathlons, Dick Hoyt continues to push Rick's wheelchair. Affectionately known worldwide as Team Hoyt, they are as devoted as ever, continuing to inspire millions and embodying their trademark motto of "Yes, you can."
Call number: 616.8589 M414S 2019
New York Times bestseller! From renowned mental health expert and speaker Dr. Gabor Maté, Scattered Minds explodes the myth of attention deficit disorder (ADD/ADHD) as genetically based—and offers real hope and advice for children and adults who live with the condition.In this breakthrough guide to understanding, treating, and healing Attention Deficit Disorder, Dr. Gabor Maté, bestselling author of The Myth of Normal, and himself diagnosed with ADD:
Demonstrates that the condition is not a genetic “illness” but a response to environmental stress
Explains that in ADD, circuits in the brain whose job is emotional self-regulation and attention control fail to develop in infancy – and why
Shows how ‘distractibility’ is the psychological product of life experience
Allows parents to understand what makes their ADD children tick, and adults with ADD to gain insights into their emotions and behaviors
Expresses optimism about neurological development even in adulthood
Presents a program of how to promote this development in both children and adults
Whereas other books on the subject describe the condition as inherited, Dr. Maté believes that our social and emotional environments play a key role in both the cause of and cure for this condition. In Scattered Minds, he describes the painful realities of ADD and its effect on children as well as on career and social paths in adults.While acknowledging that genetics may indeed play a part in predisposing a person toward ADD, Dr. Maté moves beyond that to focus on the things we can control: changes in environment, family dynamics, and parenting choices. He draws heavily on his own experience with the disorder, as both an ADD sufferer and the parent of diagnosed children. Providing a thorough overview of ADD and its treatments, without blaming anyone, Scattered Minds is essential and life-changing reading for the millions of ADD sufferers in North America today.
A powerful and inspiring examination of the connection between the potential for great talent and conditions commonly thought to be "disabilities," revealing how the source of our struggles can be the origin of our greatest strengths.
This is Nadina LaSpina's story-from her early years in her native Sicily, where she contracts polio as a baby, a fact that makes her the object of well-meaning pity and the target of messages of hopelessness, to her adolescence and youth in America, spent almost entirely in hospitals where she is tortured in the quest for a cure and made to feel that her body no longer belongs to her and to her rebellion and her activism in the disability-rights movement. LaSpina's personal growth parallels the movement's political development-from coming together, organizing, and fighting against exclusion from public and social life to the forging of a common identity, the blossoming of disability arts and culture, and the embracing of disability pride. While unique, LaSpina's journey is also one with which many disabled people can identify. It is the journey to find one's place in an ableist world-a world not made for disabled people, where disability is only seen in negative terms. LaSpina refutes all stereotypical narratives of disability. Through the telling of her life's story, without editorializing, she shows the harm that the overwhelming focus on pity and on a cure that remains elusive has done to disabled people. Her story exposes the disability prejudice ingrained in our sociopolitical system and denounces the oppressive standards of normalcy in a society that devalues those who are different and denies them basic rights.
A neurologist regales readers with extraordinary stories of the brain under siege.Our brains are the most complex machines known to humankind, but they have an Achilles heel: the very molecules that allow us to exist can also sabotage our minds. Here are true accounts of unruly molecules and the diseases that form in their wake, from total loss of inhibitions to florid psychosis to compulsive lying. Cognitive neurologist Sara Manning Peskin demystifies the most curious neurological phenomena through the perspective of patients, researchers, and science. She introduces us to a woman stuck in the Walking Dead, a family wracked with Alzheimer's disease, and an entire region gripped by a baffling epidemic. By tracing the molecular causes for neurologic diseases, Peskin highlights cutting-edge developments in cognitive research, making the case that these are the stories that will one day teach us how to cure dementia and other diseases of the brain. A Molecule Away from Madness offers a captivating, singular view of the human brain.
How to Live, Learn, and Thrive Outside the Lines
Confessional and often hilarious, in Normal Sucks a neuro-diverse writer, advocate, and father meditates on his life, offering the radical message that we should stop trying to fix people and start empowering them to succeed.
Jonathan Mooney blends anecdote, expertise, and memoir to present a new mode of thinking about how we live and learn-individually, uniquely, and with advantages and upshots to every type of brain and body. As a neuro-diverse kid diagnosed with dyslexia and ADHD who didn't learn to read until he was twelve, the realization that that he wasn't the problem-the system and the concept of normal were-saved Mooney's life and fundamentally changed his outlook. Here he explores the toll that being not normal takes on kids and adults when they're trapped in environments that label them, shame them, and tell them, even in subtle ways, that they are the problem. But, he argues, if we can reorient the ways in which we think about diversity, abilities, and disabilities, we can start a revolution.
A highly sought after public speaker, Mooney has been inspiring audiences with his story and his message for nearly two decades. Now he's ready to share what he's learned from parents, educators, researchers, and kids in a book that is as much a survival guide as it is a call to action. Whip-smart, insightful, and utterly inspiring-and movingly framed as a letter to his own young sons, as they work to find their ways in the world-this audiobook will upend what we call normal and empower us all.
August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. Beginning from Auggie’s point of view and expanding to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others, the perspectives converge to form a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope.
An approachable guide to being a thoughtful, informed ally to disabled people, with actionable steps for what to say and do (and what not to do) and how you can help make the world a more accessible, inclusive place.
Disabled people are the world's largest minority, an estimated 15 percent of the global population. But many of us—disabled and non-disabled alike—don't know how to act, what to say, or how to be an ally to the disability community. Demystifying Disability is a friendly handbook on important disability issues you need to know about, including:
• How to appreciate disability history and identity
• How to recognize and avoid ableism (discrimination toward disabled people)
• How to be mindful of good disability etiquette
• How to appropriately think, talk, and ask about disability
• How to ensure accessibility becomes your standard practice, from everyday communication to planning special events
• How to identify and speak up about disability stereotypes in media
Authored by celebrated disability rights advocate, speaker, and writer Emily Ladau, this practical, intersectional guide offers all readers a welcoming place to understand disability as part of the human experience.
In the publishing tradition of Driven to Distraction or The Boy Who Couldn't Stop Washing, this prescriptive book by a developmental psychologist and sufferer of Sensory Defensive Disorder (SD) sheds light on a little known but common affliction in which sufferers react to harmless stimuli as irritating, distracting or dangerous. We all know what it feels like to be irritated by loud music, accosted by lights that are too bright, or overwhelmed by a world that moves too quickly. But millions of people suffer from Sensory Defensive Disorder (SD), a common affliction in which people react to harmless stimuli not just as a distracting hindrance, but a potentially dangerous threat.
Sharon Heller, Ph.D. is not only a trained psychologist, she is sensory defensive herself. Bringing both personal and professional perspectives, Dr. Heller is the ideal person to tell the world about this problem that will only increase as technology and processed environments take over our lives. In addition to heightening public awareness of this prevalent issue, Dr. Heller provides tools and therapies for alleviating and, in some cases, even eliminating defensiveness altogether.
© 2019 Western Wyoming Community College. Western Wyoming Community College does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, nation origin,
marital status, sexual preference,
sex, age, religion, political belief, disability, or veteran status, in employment,
admission and/or access to program or activities.